Daily Poem Prompt : Rewrite a famous poem – Muhammad Ali’s Recipe for Life #NaPoWriMo

The prompt today reminds me I want to pay tribute to many people including one of my favourite poets: Muhammad Ali. I am working on a tribute. For now here’s my recreation of his Recipe for Life.

I tried to recreate Muhammad Ali’s recipe for Life

As yet I haven’t mastered it right.

I need more patience. My ingredients are running low.
I put in too much laughter, when it’s more concern I add to grow.

Faith is an acquired taste and can get a little tricky.
I  keep a bagful with me, in case I need some quickly.
My friends use little and large between them and I ask for their advice.
I use more alone so as not to offend because I want to do it right.
It’s always there though not running spare as I don’t want to run out –
Noone can argue with love and happiness I freely spread them about.

My generosity
needs filling up, I’m a few cups short of the recipe.
Concern and kindness are in large supply but my problem is the moderation.
Willingness is somewhere in the back, a few burns is what used up all my patience.

Once it’s perfected, upon reflection,
I can say I learnt from the greatest.

Leave a Reply

