National Poetry Writing Month: Requiem #NaPoWriMo

Raindrops on the train glass window
Raindrops on the train glass window

This is the perfect poem for me to kick off  my #NaPoWriMo contribution with, as I wrote Requiem after a long long period of writer’s block. The inspiration behind it was something so simple, yet created this out pour which I was not in control of:-

Requiem

Raindrops on the train glass window,

fall effortlessly like the pain you give and claim to not know.

Epitomising the demising friendship I was desiring, to step into; fantasising,

where it could go.

Oh they fall, so small,

But build up to a size,

uncontrollable to hold back anymore.

Like the tears in my eyes,

concealed by a smile;

hard to not eventually show at all.

They fall south despite being blown; forced in the other direction.

I wish I had somewhere to hide – a distraction,

from the cold slap of spite, like sudden frostbite

from the warm sunny flirts of your affection.

I wish I had some protection from the gust that stings my eyes,

And the whistling wind voicing my silent cries.

I was crazy for you.

Now I abhor you.

I guess I had to write a requiem for you.

Soon the storm will pass,

After a lightning flash making sense of the past;

To wash old rivers away,

Drown out the sorrow, for tomorrow may still be cold but will be a brighter day.

Shouldn’t let a bad experience diminish my spirit,

Or keep me from friendships.

I’ve come to terms with it.

Definitely learned from it.

You were never true.

I was crazy for you.

Now I abhor you.

So I wrote a requiem for you.

(here’s a requiem for you).

Leave a Reply

